Joy vs. Happiness

tumblr_mh5dhe8uwy1r0p4g7o1_500

I am currently in the middle of reading Joy by Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu, and Douglas Abrams. With the new year rapidly approaching I want to get a head start on focusing on my own joy. My ultimate goal is to radiate joy to everyone I come in contact with on a daily basis. Before I can do that, I want to understand the difference between happiness and joy.

I am not that far into the book yet, but the first 100 pages have already made an impression on me. I have already learned the difference between joy and happiness; joy is constant happiness that isn’t dependent on things. The happiness that comes from joy is constant. It comes from helping others and having compassion for humanity. Happiness on the other hand is equivalent to satisfaction. It is dependent on things; materialistic things. Once the appeal of these things goes away, your happiness goes away and you’re back at square one.

My goal this year is to focus on joy.

“Materialistic values cannot give us peace of mind. So we really need to focus on our inner values, our true humanity. Only this way can we have peace of mind- and more peace in our world.”-Dalai Lama

(Photo from Pinterest)

Joy vs. Happiness

Leave a Reply

